SCPRT: South Carolina National Heritage Corridor Grant Program

SCPRT: South Carolina National Heritage Corridor Grant Program
PDF version

South Carolina National Heritage Corridor
Photo: South Carolina National Heritage Corridor

South Carolina National Heritage Corridor

The South Carolina National Heritage Corridor extends 240 miles across South Carolina, stretching from the mountains of Oconee County, along the Savannah River, to the port city of Charleston. It is divided into four regions and contains the following counties: Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Edgefield, Georgetown, Greenwood, McCormick, Oconee, Orangeburg, Pickens and Saluda. The 17 counties of the Heritage Corridor offer a cross-section of the state's historical, cultural, and natural resources that tell the vibrant story of South Carolina's centuries-long evolution and culture. The area describes the progression of upcountry and lowcountry life, from grand plantations and simple farms to mill villages and urban centers, and how their history affected South Carolina as a state and America as a nation.


The South Carolina National Heritage Corridor was established by the U.S. Congress in 1996 as one of a select number of National Heritage Areas - regions in which entire communities live and work, and where residents, businesses, and local governments have come together to conserve special landscapes and their own heritage. It encompasses a region of the state which retains a large percentage of rural landscapes. The Corridor contains an array of intact cultural resources representative of three major components of the state's development from some of the earliest permanent European settlements in the American South, the invention and development of the plantation system of agriculture, and the interrelationship of historic trade routes, the coastal ports, and the settlement of the state's upland region.

Heritage Corridor Grant Program

The SC National Heritage Corridor Grant Program, through the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism (SCPRT), provides opportunities for communities and organizations to conserve and develop their historical, cultural and natural assets so they may contribute to the sustainable economic revitalization of the Heritage Corridor. Developing, implementing and maintaining a successful heritage tourism attraction is a long-term, complex process and involves many features. In order to assist communities and organizations in preparing a program to benefit the existing residents and attract visitors to the area, grants focus on in the following categories: A. Planning (utilizing professional facilitation to develop a heritage tourism plan or fully develop a product development concept); B. Product Development (the development, conservation and implementation of historical, cultural and natural heritage tourism attractions or appropriate activities); C. Implementation (organizations whose operations fulfill the federal mandate of all 17 counties of the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor and will further its programmatic efforts); D. Marketing and Visitor Services: (the research, planning, and promotion of heritage corridor tourism attractions, and visitor services).


>> More information on the SC National Heritage Corridor Grant Program


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.